You have got to be kidding me!

So a package was left on the front step for me today from Gurney’s. I don’t even know where to begin. Maybe I’ll just start with a picture.

20110517-041828.jpg

Crushed box

So, the above picture is my replacement tomato plants.  The original order was sent about a month too early and the plants have been suffering in the garden for the past 3 weeks.  They have endured the frost but just haven’t done much since being placed in the ground.  So, I was really hoping that the replacement plants would arrive and be suitable replacements.  Well, from the looks of the box, I now have my doubts.

20110517-041838.jpg

Crushed box - Second view

Sigh… another view of the crushed box.  Guess I need to open it and see if there is anything useable inside.

20110517-041858.jpg

Opening the box

Well, looks like there are plants in there.

20110517-041922.jpg

Tomato plants - Front view

Hmm, even without being crushed, they don’t look that great.

20110517-041936.jpg

Tomato plants - Side view

Aside from being a bit taller, I don’t think they look any better than the ones already out in the garden.  I am afraid that my first foray into buying tomato plants through the mail has not gone as smoothly as I planned.  Perhaps I should give another company a try next year.

5 thoughts on “You have got to be kidding me!

  1. Pingback: First Heirloom Brandywine « Matt's Garden Blog

  2. Pingback: Brandywine Tomatoes « Matt's Garden Blog

  3. Pingback: Seed delivery woes | Matt's Garden Blog

  4. Pingback: And finally… Tomatoes | Matt's Garden Blog

  5. Pingback: Tomato planting time | Matt's Garden Blog

Leave a Reply

