Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Here is a winter time update from the garden.  As 2012 comes to a close, we received a decent amount of snow.  Hopefully the snow and cold weather will help take care of the bugs so that there will be less of them to battle in 2013.

20121229-121633.jpg

Garden in winter

 

For Christmas this year, I received a new toy to help with the garden next year.  Should this present work as advertised, I shouldn’t have to guess on how much rain we get or when the temperatures in the garden have reached a needed average.  With the Ambient Weather WS-2080, I hope to be able to keep a lot more detailed records of the weather conditions in the garden.

20121229-121653.jpg

Christmas present

Unfortunately, I will not be able to start the weather recording on January 1st.  My set has a bad thermo-hygrometer and I need to wait on a replacement before final sensor verification testing and installation.  Wind speed, direction and rain fall sensors appeared to be working properly.  If all goes well, I hope to be able to report live weather conditions on this blog.

Below is a photo of the assembled sensors.  Not picture is the shield for the thermometer which will allow the sensor to provide a more accurate temperature reading even in direct sunlight.

20121229-121704.jpg

Assembled Weather Station

In closing, I want to wish all those who read this blog, all 3 of you :-), a belated Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year full of ample rain, moderate temperatures and a pest free garden.

2 thoughts on “Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

    • My plan is to mount this on the corner post of the new fence. For the rain gauge to work properly, it needs to be level, so I am hoping that post is straight enough to work.

      With some software I can upload my weather readings to Weather Underground. There will be a few steps to get the data uploaded. I might even work a Raspberry Pi into the mix. Should make for good blog fodder when I get to it.

Leave a Reply

