Onions, pole beans and cucumbers

I made a second round of planting tonight after work. I have gotten impatient and can’t wait on the official frost date any longer.  Looking at the ten day forecast and seeing lows only in the 50’s makes me think I can take the change.  I wanted to get more planted tonight, but I at least got almost 200 onions, a row of cucumbers and the first ever planting of pole beans.

As you can see in the picture below, I’ve taken another step in the Square Foot Gardening approach.  I planted the red, yellow and white onions in a grid pattern composed of about 12 – 18 inch rectangles.  It certainly is a lot more dense than the row equivalent would have been.  We’ll see how it goes.  Worse case, if they are too crowded, I can pull alternating onions for scallions.

20130502-213326.jpg

In the picture below, you can see the vertical elements in the garden taking shape.  The second pole tower has been assembled and installed.  The closer tower is for the beans with the further tower being used for the peas which can be visible already making their assent up the strings.  To the left of the picture is the cucumber trellis now making its third season in the garden.

20130502-213335.jpg

High rise gardening

Leave a Reply

