Gambling man

Frost date for this part of part of the country is generally the middle of May (May 11th to be precise for my zip code). I like to jump that date as much as I can. This year I’m taking a chance ( based on the forecast, not that big of a one) that our last frost was back on April 26. Friday night after work, I planted till it was dark and I no longer see what I was doing. Everything except for tomatoes are in the ground and if they had been here, I would have planted them too.

To give a summary of all that was planted between Thursday and Friday night…

  • Onions (red, white and yelllow)
  • Cucumbers
  • Green Beans (Pole)
  • Summer Squash (Yellow)
  • Zucchini
  • Sunflowers
  • Carrots
  • Lima Beans
  • Brussels Sprouts
  • Zinnias

Let the growing begin!

One thought on “Gambling man

  1. I know I’m deep in the archives at this point, but I, too, am that gardener who’s out wrapping the tender plants in blanket teepees because I couldn’t help myself and set out transplants three weeks before the frost date. Honestly, this year, the tomatoes I planted latest are the most productive. I think next year I’m going to try to keep my impatience in check and just use the space for more peas or carrots.

Leave a Reply

