Matt’s Grub Garden

After the work in the garden this week, I think I should rename the garden.  Earlier this week I noticed the yellow squash were not looking too good and that their production of fruit has ceased.  I took a closer look and found the signs that the grubs were hard at work on these plants as well.  The area for the squash was very crowded, so I pulled two of the four plants.  I removed the grubs best I could from the remaining plants and proceeded to cover the stems with soil.  These squash have traveled a lot further than the zucchini so there was a lot more stem laying along the ground that can be covered.  While digging up soil to cover the plants I found about a dozen of the big fat white grubs pictured below.  What I don’t know is if this is a larger squash vine bore that has already left the vine and started to prep for winter.  I’m thinking not… but more research is needed.  They look like the same grubs that you would find in your lawn eating the roots of grass.  Either way, they won’t be doing any grub-y things any more.

20130726-205824.jpg

Fat grub dug from the soil

 

While doing some research, I came across a good video that shows about the same thing I did with mine.  A lot of times a video is a better source for seeing how to perform a task.  Here is a Garden Fork.TV video doing battle with Vine Bores.

So, how are the patients doing?  Below is a picture of the zucchini close to a week after its operation.  I have to say, I am happy to see the plant is still in line.

20130726-205838.jpg

Recovering zucchini plant

Here are the two squash pants just after getting their grubs removed.  The plant in the lower right was in worse shape than the one in the upper left.  Both are still alive, so all I can do now is water and wait.

20130726-205851.jpg

Two remaining yellow squash

Now to close on some good news.  Tonight when I went to check on the garden I was very happy to see a pickably sized zucchini hiding under a big leaf.  The zucchini plant may not be as good as new, but it seems like the operation was at least successful enough to prolong the zucchini season a bit longer.

20130726-205911.jpg

First zucchini post grubectomy

One thought on “Matt’s Grub Garden

  1. Good to know the surgery worked! I saw signs of borers on my zukes, but I was too afraid of slicing thru the stems. Instead I took a pin needle and poked around the area where I saw frass. If that doesn’t work, I may have to resort to your method.

Leave a Reply

