It is an honor to just be nominated…

Who would have thought that my simple blog to just keep a record of my gardening would not only be read and enjoyed by a number of people but now it has been nominated for an award as well!

Thanks to fellow garden blogger Head in the Garden for the nomination of a Liebster Award!

liebster211

So, with the award comes a set of questions.  I’ll do my best to answer them below.

1. What is your favorite vegetable and how do you like to cook/eat it?
Hmm, start off with a tough one. I don’t know if I can pick just one. My all time favorite would have to be sweet corn. Some of my fondest memories of childhood are getting called into dinner and seeing a golden pyramid of steaming sweet corn on the dinner table. Corn picked, cooked and eaten with in an hour is fantastic.

More recent favorite vegetables grown in my own garden is a toss up between green beans and zucchini. Fresh green beans cooked with bacon and brown sugar is very tasty. Zucchini Crisp, bread, muffins and bars are an annual tradition now as well.

2. What is one thing you wish you could grow (space or climate doesn’t allow)?
If I had more space, I would love to grow sweet corn, pumpkins, honey-do melon, rhubarb, asparagus, raspberries, strawberries, apples, peaches… this is what I was able to just type off the top of my head. I could probably double the list if I sat down and thought about it some more.

3. What is your favorite cocktail?
Don’t have much of an answer for this one as it hasn’t been an area I have explored much. I’m too cheap to pay for much more than water.

4. What do you like to do when you’re not blogging?
Even though I have a blog and I post semi-regularly, at least during the summer, I don’t really consider myself much of a blogger. So, most of my time is spent not blogging. At this point in my life, I find that there really isn’t a lot of spare time left over once the ‘must dos’ are finished. By the time I am done working and finish with all the family obligations the remaining time is on the short side. Obviously I like to work in the garden. I like to read and play video games, but both of those activities have been sidelined recently. I like watching college football and am excited to see The Ohio State Buckeye’s kick off the season tomorrow (8/31, in case this post is delayed in posting). Even though I work all day with computers, I would like to have more free time to write more software. Decide-o-matic is in need of an overhaul. Especially with iOS 7 due out in a few weeks. The Android version is even crustier.

5. What did you want to be when you ‘grew up’?
Having been born and raised on a farm, I was going to be a farmer of course. After getting to high school and being in Ag class and FFA, I was going to be an Agriculture Education teacher. All the while though I was playing with computers. It wasn’t until my first computer science classes at Ohio State that I realized I wanted to pursue a career in software development.

6. What’s one fond food memory from childhood?
I am fortunate that this is a hard question because there are so many. Here is one and it ties back into the favorite vegetable question. I fondly remember the big family gatherings in the summer to freeze sweet corn. Grandparents, Aunts, Uncles and cousins would all meet. Some would head to the field and pick the corn. I remember it being a pickup truck full but I am sure that is an exaggerated memory. Next the corn was husked and boiled and cooled. After that it was cut from the cob and bagged. I’m sure the adults may not remember it as fondly as the kids, since they were the ones doing all the work. We got to ‘help’ a little but mostly we played with our cousins and passed through the kitchen for the occasional theft of a long strip of freshly cut corn.

7. What’s your favorite movie?
Favorite movie… I don’t know that I really have a favorite, but my old standby for this question is Apollo 13. Being a space geek and all around nerd, it just seems fitting.

8. What do you consider your greatest gardening or cooking success?
Greatest success… I would have to say just getting the thing built. It has become quite the setup and now with the total of six beds, gravel pathways and surrounding deer fence it has become quite a nice place to garden.

20130626-210906.jpg

9. Who inspires you most?
Pioneers. Actually, anyone who has had to live solely on what they grew and preserved. I find myself thinking about and occasionally discussing with friends and family what it would have been like to have lived in the 1800s. Something like the old PBS show Frontier House. Having this garden; fighting off the deer, rabbits, bugs, disease, weather and general bad luck, gives me a small taste of what it would have been like. If my green beans fail to grow it is a disappointment, but I can still buy them at the store for 88 cents a can. If they failed to get enough food grown and preserved, they would starve before spring.

10. Describe one memorable travel moment
Tough call on this one, but I think the most memorable would be during my honeymoon in Kauai. My wife and I took a zodiac raft trip down the Na Pali coast.

This post was a little lacking in pictures, so I dug up this old one of Karen and me hiking the along the coast.

Na Pali Coast Hike

Na Pali Coast Hike

Finally, as part of the Liebster Award rules, I am supposed to pass on the nominations to blogs I find worthy of an award. Unfortunately, I am embarrassed to say I don’t really make the time to follow other blogs. So, what I will do is hold these owed nominations in reserve and return to update this blog post when I do make the award and fulfill my obligation.

One thought on “It is an honor to just be nominated…

Leave a Reply

