Headless sunflowers

This post has been sitting in a draft state for a little over a week now.  With Halloween just around the corner and the new show on Fox, the title seemed to jump to mind for this post.  We received a decent amount of rain and the heavy heads and weakened soil was too much for two of the sunflowers.  They both fell forward and landed on the zinnias.

20130921-171750.jpg

Collapsing Sunflowers

Below is a view from behind the follow flower.  You can see where the ground gave way and the plant pitched forward.

20130921-171807.jpg

Lean on me.. when your not strong…

While I appreciate the zinnias helping out, I figured I better take care of them or they will keep falling over.  This calls for a decapitation!

In order to remove the sunflower head, I resorted to the long handled loppers.  These were two of the smaller sunflowers.  I may need to get a chainsaw for the big fella on the end when his time comes.

20130921-171718.jpg

Needed the loppers to cut the stem

Now that I have two sunflower heads… what am I supposed to do with them?  Guess that will be my next research project.

20130921-171822.jpg

Sunflower heads

20130921-171840.jpg

One of a ‘few’ seeds

20130921-171852.jpg

Helpers

Fortunately for me, I have a few helpers to clean up the heads and sample a few seeds.  I don’t think they were too sold on them plain, but my guess is roasted and salted will win over a few more fans.

Leave a Reply

