First planting of 2014

On Thursday, I put the first seeds and plants in the ground!

Seeds planted were radish, lettuce and spinach. I also planted the onions.  This year I am giving the onion plants a try. The sets grew okay last year, but the size of the harvested onions was not as big as I would have hoped. Three different variety of onions were planted, same as last year.

I thought about planting the peas as well, but I am inclined to let the ground warm up a bit more.  Maybe early next week.

 

With this first planting also comes the creation of the new planting calendar for 2014.  I hope I do a better job of keeping this one updated.  Last year I missed most harvest dates.

Section of the bed for radish, lettuces, spinach and overflow onions.

Section of the bed for radish, lettuces, spinach and overflow onions.

 

Three sections of onions plants.  Red, yellow and white onions.

Three sections of onions plants. Red, yellow and white onions.

 

 

One thought on “First planting of 2014

  1. Pingback: Plant feature: Onions | Matt's Garden Blog

Leave a Reply

