Planting by moonlight

After an already late dinner due to softball practice and a track meet, I decided to go ahead and plant a bunch of seeds in the garden. It was getting pretty dark by the time I finished. I did however manage to plant the following: zucchini, green beans, cucumbers, yellow squash, sunflowers, lima beams as well as a second planting of spinach and salad bowl lettuce.

Getting some help from Julia planting pole beans

Getting some help from Julia planting pole beans

Two rows of lima beans

Two rows of lima beans

This year I have been sprinkling in some fertilizer along with the seeds to give the growing plants a bit more nutrients. I figure the soil in the beds is probably getting a bit tired and depleted over the years. I try mixing in yard waste and other organic material but I don’t think it is probably contributing as much as the plants are taking out.

Fertilizer I am sprinkling about and mixing in to the soil before planting

Fertilizer I am sprinkling about and mixing in to the soil before planting

Not quite done, but losing daylight fast.

Not quite done, but losing daylight fast.

2 thoughts on “Planting by moonlight

    • Hi Valerie, that is funny. I had already planted my onions when I realized I really should have put some fertilizer down. I went to the local hardware store and sorted through all the different specialty fertilizers and finally found just a simple all purpose option. I’m glad to see someone else has used it with good success.

Leave a Reply

