End of May Garden Status Update

Okay, so technically tomorrow is the end of May, but I took these pictures today.

The garden is starting to hit a growth spurt. With high temps in the low to mid 80s, the plants have started to really take root and expand their foliage.

Here are a few pictures.

Sweet Potatoes are looking a bit better.

Sweet Potatoes are looking a bit better.

While this row of sweet potatoes looks better, there was at least one plant from the whole batch that looks as though it is not going to survive the transplant.

Onion forest

Onion forest

Climbing peas

Climbing peas

Green beans, peppers and a basil

Green beans, peppers and a basil

This section of garden is a bit crowded.  The pole beans are surrounded by their admirers of peppers and a basil.  I went a little overboard with the peppers.  I picked these up at a local Lowes and couldn’t restrain myself.  I bought a red, green and yellow sweet pepper and two different hot peppers.  In the hot variety, I got a cayenne and a habenaro.  What I am going to do with all these peppers I don’t really know yet.

Cucumbers are growing

Cucumbers are growing

The cucumbers are still not doing great, but they seem to be starting to grow now.  I have a few replant in as well to better my odds of enough plants.  I really liked these cucumbers last year and they produced like crazy.

Big leafed Lima Beans

Big leafed Lima Beans

This Lima Beans have had a bit of a struggle getting going, you can see the war wounds from the bugs in the leaves.  I may have to treat them in a bit if the bugs get too bad.

Leave a Reply

