Plant feature: Sunflowers

I’m going to try something a bit different, at least for my blog anyway. My plan is to take a plant and publish a post just about it. I’ll work my way around the garden and pick a new plant type each post.

I’ll start off this series with a post about the sunflowers.

This is the second year of planting sunflowers in the garden.  This year, like last, I planted Mammoth Russian Sunflowers.  Last year the tallest plant topped out around 9 feet.  For a reminder of how big they grew last year check out the Sunflower Updates post.  The seven plants seem to be off to a great start this year, so I am hopeful we will get closer to their potential height of 12 feet.  So far, they are just over a foot tall as of today.  Not too bad considering they were planted just one month ago.

I still have some of my roasted sunflower seeds from last years harvest.  When I am planning to be outside for a decent amount of time, I will pop a handful in my mouth and slowly work through them spreading the spent hulls around the yard as I go.  Not exactly an easy thing to eat in the house.  Spitting the hulls out around the INSIDE of the house is generally frowned upon.

Current height of the sunflowers

Current height of the sunflowers

Row of seven sunflowers

Row of seven sunflowers

Leave a Reply

