Time to plant in the garden!

It has been quite a while since my last blog post. I have to admit, I have gotten a bit lazy over the winter. I hope that this post will serve as a bit of a catch up on some of the early spring activities.

Indoor seed starting. 

The indoor seeds are off to a good start. I was a bit concerned as we took a week long trip shortly after the tomatoes sprouted. I was worried they would run out of water while we were gone. In the end, there was no need to worry. The seed starting tray had plenty of water to keep the cells moist and plants growing.

Tomato seedlings before the vacation

Tomato seedlings before the vacation

Close up view of the tomato seedlings

Close up view of the tomato seedlings

Tomato plants after returning from vacation

Tomato plants after returning from vacation

Close up of the growing tomatoes

Close up of the growing tomatoes

This weekend I finally went in a trimmed out the extra plants to bring the count down to just one plant per cell.

Onion plants

Again this year I purchased some onion plants online from Burpee. The problem is they showed up on March 25th, three days before we left on vacation. The weather was too cold and wet to even venture to the garden, much less prepare a place to plant them. So, I gave them a good drink of water and tucked them into the basement. My hope was that they will survive long enough for me to get back from the trip and get some nice enough weather to get them planted. While they looked a little more dried out than before we left, they seemed to be doing okay.  Fortunately, the weather here in Ohio was quite nice over the Easter weekend.  After eating too much ham and deviled eggs, it was nice to be able to spend some time in the garden and get the onions planted.

Soil is dry enough to be worked

Soil is dry enough to be worked

Onion plants finally in the ground

Onion plants finally in the ground

Another view of the onions

Another view of the onions

 Cool weather planting

After getting the primary mission complete, onions in the ground, I starting to think about what to do next.  It turned out that the raised beds were dryer than I had anticipated so I went ahead and planted some radish, lettuce, spinach and even some snap peas.

The week since planting has been plenty wet and decently warm.  I’ve not got a couple peas trying to push through as well as radish, lettuce and one tiny spinach plant.  With the weather forecast showing high temperatures in the mid to upper 60s, I expect their growth to continue.

2 thoughts on “Time to plant in the garden!

  1. It has been soooooo wet and cold here, too, that I just put the Brussels sprouts, cabbages and peas in the ground this weekend. I hope to get the potatoes in this week, as well. That said, all those guys are going to take up real estate until at least June, so I won’t even to start my tomato seedlings this week because I’ll have nowhere to put them. In years past, I’ve tried to set out tomatoes early, and I’m not sure I’m doing myself any favors, so if I can get the tomatoes in the ground by June 1, I’ll feel good. It’s always an adventure!

Leave a Reply

