Seedling tending day

Today I spent some time tending the tomato and Brussels sprout seedlings. They were starting to look a little cramped in their current cells and some of the leaves were turning yellow. I was a little concerned they were getting their feet too wet with the tray full of water. So, I took advantage of the nice weather this morning to up-pot them before the cooler and wetter weather rolled back in.  These new pots were probably a bit on the small size, so next year I may try and find some that are a little bigger.  If the weather cooperates, I am hoping they will only need to be indoors for another couple weeks before I try and start getting them into the garden.

Bunch of tomatoes a tad too yellow

Bunch of tomatoes a tad too yellow

 

Closer view of the yellowing leaves

Closer view of the yellowing leaves

Plenty of long roots

Plenty of long roots

Transplanted and ready to keep on growing

Transplanted and ready to keep on growing

 

2 thoughts on “Seedling tending day

  1. New digs! Nice. I only yesterday started my tomato seedlings. What kind did you do this year? Along with some heirloom varieties, I’m trying one of Burpee’s very early varieties, Early Treat, with a 52-day harvest window. Can you believe? I’m a little skeptical myself, but if it’s true, it’ll be great to have some early ones by the end of June while my heirlooms take another 4 to 6 weeks. We’ll have to see!

    • Hi Valerie,

      Sorry, been away from the blog for a bit. I went with a whole new batch of tomatoes this year. I have some Honey Bunch for the cherries, SuperTasty for the medium sized and Big Beef for the large ones to put on sandwiches. Here’s hoping they live up to their names!

Leave a Reply

