In for a penny… in for a pound. 

Since I planted most of the garden yesterday, might as well put the tomatoes in today. Still no sweet potatoes or basil yet, so those will be the last to get planted.

I got a helper today to make the job a little easier as I was a bit sore (some might even say in pain) this afternoon. This morning my son and a buddy went to a local mountain bike trail. I was a bit over zealous at the skills area and forgot my age. I *might* have tackled a challenge that was too big for me and busted a rib.  It didn’t hurt too bad at the time, but as the day wore on and I continued to try and do more chores, it gradually got worse.  Not looking forward to how it will feel getting out of bed in the morning.

Anywho, on to the garden. My daughter helped me plant six tomatoes today, two of each variety.  This year, I went back to putting down the landscape fabric.  I don’t have too much issue with weeds, but I am hoping that the fabric may help keep the soil (and associated micro-bacteria) from splashing up on the plants during the rain.  I’ve had some trouble with blight the past few years and I read that this is one way to try and reduce it.

Julia helping carry the tomato ladders

Julia helping carry the tomato ladders

I’ve been using these tomato supports for a number of years now and they seem to both work well and are holding up nicely.  The Stacking Tomato Ladders were purchased from Gardener Supply.  Only issue I have is when the plants get too large and heavy at the end of the season.  The soil isn’t stiff enough to hold the towers upright and they lean or even fall over.  I end up needing to drive in other wooden tomato stakes around the plant to provide additional support.  Maybe if I did a better job pruning, I wouldn’t have the issue.

Positioning the tomato suports

Positioning the tomato supports

It was hard, but I managed this year to only plant six tomatoes. Each year I feel bad tossing out the extra plants and cram in more tomatoes that I really have room for. I probably have too many again, but at least I am cutting back a bit. The overcrowding of years past has probably contributed to the plant disease issues as well.

For anyone who a) reads this far and b) would like a few tomato plants, just let me know. I still have four of each variety left.

Cutting a hole in the fabric to plant the tomato

Cutting a hole in the fabric to plant the tomato

Now, here is where I confess another mistake. I failed to label the tomatoes when I planted them. I thought I could keep track of them based on where they were in the original seed starting tray but when I transplanted them to the larger containers, they became much easier to re-arrange.  I am pretty sure I selected two of each variety but I have no way to know for sure. [Embarrassed Smiley Face] If they grow well and bear fruit, I’ll find out towards the end of July and beginning of August.

The two Honey Bunch tomato plants

The two Honey Bunch tomato plants

Two each of of Super Tasty and Big Beef

One thought on “In for a penny… in for a pound. 

  1. Pingback: Get Down to the Beet | Pay Dirt

Leave a Reply

