Catch up post

I’ve been neglecting the blog lately and hopefully this catch up post will get me back into the swing of things.  I took a family trip up to Chicago last weekend to check out my sister and her husband’s new house as well as give the kids a taste of a big city.  Before leaving, I took some pictures of the garden with the intention of writing a status update for the blog.  Well, that was a week ago and I am just now getting the post written.  Last week was the time in the garden where everything looks nice and neat.  Not overgrown, not overcrowded.  No troubles with insects or disease yet, just a happy time.  By the end of this month, that carefree time will be over.  Below are some pictures showing the state of the garden before we left for our long weekend.

Here we have the Bush Green Beans, Zucchini and two tomato plants anchoring the far end of the bed.

Here we have the Bush Green Beans, Zucchini and two tomato plants anchoring the far end of the bed.

Next up are the sweet potato plants.  I'm waiting for them to start vining out so I can bury them deeper with the mounds of soil.

Next up are the sweet potato plants. I’m waiting for them to start vining out so I can bury them deeper with the mounds of soil.

Sunflowers are starting to stretch their legs

Sunflowers are starting to stretch their legs

Brussels Sprouts.  Two good, one sick and one already gone.

Brussels Sprouts. Two good, one sick and one already gone.

Four Golden Egg yellow squash

Four Golden Egg yellow squash

Sugar Snap Peas all in bloom

Sugar Snap Peas all in bloom

Mess of onions

Mess of onions

Four more tomato plants

Four more tomato plants

Basil and Lettuce

Basil and Lettuce

Cucumbers with some lettuce and radish growing in the shade of the trellis

Cucumbers with some lettuce and radish growing in the shade of the trellis

Pole beans just starting to climb

Pole beans just starting to climb

Two rows of carrots

Two rows of carrots

Closeup of the blooming tomotoes

Closeup of the blooming tomotoes

Since the above pictures were taken last week, I have managed to harvest a couple more vegetables. First up was some peas which I finally had a chance to steam up tonight. Very tasty. I also thinned some of the onions and chopped them up for a salad and tacos.

First harvest of peas

First harvest of peas

A couple green onions to be chopped up for a salad

A couple green onions to be chopped up for a salad

 

5 thoughts on “Catch up post

  1. I really like those tomato ladders. I am only on my second year of growing vegetables; while I have a 16×24 plot for in-ground gardening, I still keep throwing tomatoes in pots on my patio. I think I’ve crowded WAY too much in (the one in the Facebook photo link has a tomato, pepper, basil, onions, and borage), so I’m worried that I’m going to have to kill some plants I’ve nursed from seed. 😦

    In other words: thank you for the reminder about spacing!

    • Down selecting plants has become one of the hardest things for me to do in the garden. I have another perfect case in point this year. I have about twice as many sunflowers growing as I should, but I just couldn’t bear to pull out a third to half of them after they started to grow so well. As for your container… I am afraid I would have to agree that looks a bit crowded. 🙂 Good luck with garden!

    • Down selecting plants has become one of the hardest things for me to do in the garden. I have another perfect case in point this year. I have about twice as many sunflowers growing as I should, but I just couldn’t bear to pull out a third to half of them after they started to grow so well. As for your container… I am afraid I would have to agree that looks a bit crowded. 🙂 Good luck with garden!

    • Hello and thanks for checking out the garden blog. Both the trellis and the tomato ladders came from Gardener’s Supply (http://www.gardeners.com/). Both have worked out quite well. I’ve written a bit about both as well in the blog, but off the top of my head I don’t recall how far back those posts are. If you can’t find them, let me know and I’ll search for them.

Leave a Reply

