Hello 2016

The garden blog has been pretty dormant as of late but it is time to get things going. Today I prepped and planted the indoor starting seeds. I’m probably a week or two late actually, but… Well… I guess I really don’t have an excuse.

This year I am again starting way too many tomato plants. I have eight cells each of the three repeat varieties of tomatoes from last year; HoneyBunch Hybrid, SuperTasty Hybrid and Big Beef Hybrid. In the final eight cells, I decided to give indoor lettuce a try. I split them between Romain and Looseleaf blend.

I was again suckered into trying the pellets that magically expand in when water is added.  These at least expanded, but they just were not large enough to fit the cells.

Refill pellets that are too small for the cells.

Refill pellets that are too small for the cells.

Luckily I still had some seed starting soil from last year and managed to fill in the gaps.

Additional soil added on top of the small plugs.

Additional soil added on top of the small plugs.

In an effort to not mix up which seeds are which, I will hope to refer back to this picture below.  I should be able to tell the tomatoes apart from the lettuce.  🙂

Tomato and Lettuce seeds being started indoors this year.

Tomato and Lettuce seeds being started indoors this year.

Dungeon indoor seed starting shelf.

Dungeon indoor seed starting shelf.

 

Leave a Reply

