Garden planting update, including planting plan and calendar

Busy couple days in the garden this weekend. Weather forecast looks like it should be safe to get the garden planted as well as take advantage of the free watering from Mother Nature.  Just about all of the garden is planted now. I just have to wait on sweet potato plants as well as get some carrot seeds planted.

New this year… Sweet Corn!!!!

For all the years I’ve had the garden, I haven’t been willing to dedicate enough space to grow sweet corn.  Well, this year I decided to give it a try.  One whole bed dedicated to sweet corn.  I’ve got four rows with about 160 seeds planted total.  I’m hoping that will have sufficient density to provide for a decent pollination.  I planted the Ambrosia variety from Burpee.  I hope it grows well, it has been a very long time since I have been able to have sweet corn picked and cooked within minutes of each other.

Marking out the Sweet Corn rows

Marking out the Sweet Corn rows

Row of Sweet Corn seeds

Row of Sweet Corn seeds

In addition to all the other planting this weekend, I decided to go ahead and get the tomato plants out to the garden. Same three varieties again this year, HoneyBunch, SuperTasty and Big Beef. The first two got the choice placement in the garden where they will get the most sun. Big Beef unfortunately got placed back by the peas where it is a bit shadier.

Placement of the front four tomato plants

Placement of the front four tomato plants

Tomato ladders ready and waiting

Tomato ladders ready and waiting

So, where are all these seeds and plants located? Here is the garden planting plan for 2016.

Garden Planting Plan 2016

Garden Planting Plan 2016

Finally, I created the new 2016 Planting Calendar and updated it for what has happened so far this year. Take a look here for the details.

2 thoughts on “Garden planting update, including planting plan and calendar

  1. Fantastic! I’ve been told to bury the tomato plant fairly deep when planting…leaving only the top few stems above the dirt. How deep do you plant your tomatoes?

    • Hi and thanks for visiting my garden blog.

      I too have heard that tomatoes plants should be planted fairly deep. If I remember correctly, they should be deep enough to bury the first set of leafs. This year I didn’t end up getting mine planted too deep. They were not overly tall to start with so they are more or less just planted them to where they were almost to the bottom leaves.

Leave a Reply

